Sunday, November 13, 2011

Final Fantasy

Final Fantasy was originally released for the NES by Square Co., Ltd. The first game had a small development team - which was normal for the time - but proved to be talented. Hironobu Sakaguchi was the head of the project, which was inspired in other RPGs that were hits at the time, like Dragon Quest. The idea was so successful that turned the game in the series that lasted until the present day.

Despite the name Final Fantasy to be attributed to the fact that it was a last stand of the Square, which was on the verge of bankruptcy, the name "Final" at the beginning was not well accepted by developers. One of the names bandied about would be Fighting Fantasy, but because of the patent had to opt for another choice. But the game made ​​it clear that the "Final" had nothing. Final Fantasy was a success not only in Japan and the United States, not normally accustomed to see Eastern RPGs.

As the game has generic characters, you have the freedom to choose between six classes for each of the four Light Warriors, with a range of 30 possibilities to form a team. As was normal at the time, the characters were represented more for their skills in battle than by personalities. Each class has a feature that differs from the other, causing the player to create tactics in choosing his team.

The six classes are Fighter (the remakes was renamed the Warrior), Black Belt (later known as the Monk in the remakes), Thief, Black Mage, White Mage and Red Mage. In addition, the game has an optional quest to evolve classes, allowing the use of equipment and weapons even more powerful. The six advanced classes are Knight, Master, Ninja, Black Wizard, White Wizard, Red Wizard. It was the first system of jobs seen in the series, popping up in future games like Final Fantasy III and Final Fantasy V.

The system consisted of four gameplay modes: world map, where you travel across continents and oceans of the game, cities or dungeons, where you could talk to people and find items in chests, battle scene where you fight monsters and enemies , and the menu screen, where you could access the state of each character and their items for example.

The battles are mostly randomly generated world map or in caves, except the boss battles. Unlike Dragon Quest and Ultima have that one on one battles, the four protagonists of Final Fantasy can stand up to nine enemies at once. Another difference is the position of the game that the fighters are present in the battle screen, instead of first-person view with the screen facing monsters in Final Fantasy protagonists have appeared on the right and left side of the monsters. This view has become standard for many RPG games from there.

Try it Here


Post a Comment

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More